Posted by: eileenandrory | April 18, 2010

Work related stress

So what do you think?

I’ve never been a believer, but in hindsight through my working life I know I have felt it. And i’m not talking about the healthy levels of stress that you get from having a challenging task in front of you, i’m talking about the mind numbing kind were you either lash out at your friends/loved ones/colleagues or you live inside your head constantly going over something hoping that things will work out right.

I’m experiencing that one now. My mind is numb, my options seem limited, and there seems to be nothing I can do about it. The worse thing is that almost 5000 public servants in Auckland are in the same boat.

The funny thing is that usually I know I am stressed only in hindsight, but this time i’m well aware of the effect.

Luckily I have a backup plan, but that in itself is causing me stress, but that happens to be a good stress.

Re-organisations are tough, and I would guess that there is not really much that the organisers of such an event can do to make everyone feel happy, but this waiting is painful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

